J says hello

9 Aug

Hi, how are you doing?

Every few days I check the blog and see that another 10, 20, 30 or more people have stopped by to browse through J’s stories.

I’m not a very good host, though. I’ve been sharing all these personal stories without stopping to say “hi”. Jasper would say “hi”, too, but he’s sound asleep. 🙂

So, a few questions for you. What drew you to this blog? Do you have pets? Have they had cancer? Do you have questions about my experience with Jasper’s cancer? Are there things you wish I’d write about? (If you’ve read any of the other entries, you probably know that I’ll say just about anything, so ask away.)

J on the river
Photo: Another sunny day on the St. Croix River

p.s. J had another visit with the veterinary oncologists recently. Great news! His discharge sheet didn’t say much, but it did have four little words that made my week – “Jasper’s tumor appears smaller.” At least for the moment we have a little ray of hope.

p.p.s. J’s story was recently featured on the Tails magazine’s website. Check it out! He’s becoming the most famous member of our family.

p.p.p.s. Jasper and I had another great Sunday hanging out on my dad’s boat. J isn’t a big fan of his “yum-yum yellow” lifejacket, but it really helps us pull him out of the water when he’s done swimming laps around the boat!

12 Responses to “J says hello”

  1. Meagen August 12, 2010 at 5:54 PM #

    What a wonderful site and honor to Jasper. I found you thru the Tails email newsletter, we just lost our boy Leonard last Friday to cancer. We tried all we could to save him but alas he was done fighting. There are no words to describe the pain in our hearts right now but I am sure with time, the hurt will be less raw. Sending best intentions for a long, long remission sweet Jasper, keep the faith! My mantra was “When the mind is backed by will, miracles happen”

    • treubold August 13, 2010 at 12:05 PM #

      Thanks, for the comment, Meagan, and I’m so sad to hear of your loss. Jasper seems to have taken a bit of step backward this week, but we’re hoping it’s just a temporary setback. He seems to be sleeping quite a bit more and a bit more sore these days. Definitely a difficult time.

  2. jansfunnyfarm August 12, 2010 at 6:13 PM #

    Hi, I read about Jasper in Tails newsletter today and couldn’t resist stopping by to see Jasper’s blog. I hope you and Jasper have many more sunset walks and swims and happy times. I think I’ll go hug my pets.

  3. Artemisia, Fenris, Socks & Scylla August 14, 2010 at 8:33 AM #

    The gang at Jan’s Funny Farm sent us over. We are 3 cats and a dog. While we are all healthy the Mom worries about us. So many of our friends have Cancer or something else equally bad.

    We are sending healing purrs to Jasper.

  4. Mary August 18, 2010 at 3:58 PM #

    We lost our dog Bear on Aug 3, 2009. He was 5 years old. We noticed something wrong with him in January 2009, and took him to the vet who diagnosed an ear infection. We treated his ears, but he still wasn’t eating, and was showing signs of something wrong. We went back to the vet several more times, and recieved more ear medicine each time. We took him for his last visit with that vet on June 3. Our new vet was very thorough. She knew right away that Bear had serious problems. He was diagnosed with advanced stages of lymphoma on June 29. Bear had always been a very tempermental dog. His last days were easy going. Lots of slow walks, He died peacefully in his sleep. the day before he died, I asked a friend .. how will we know when it is time?
    Bear was real happy that day and peppy, almost puppyish. She told me that he had allot of life left in him and that it wouldn’t be anytime soon….
    Treasure these days with Jasper, and Thank God for each and every one of them.
    Jasper and his family are in my prayers.

    PS. I love his “yum-yum yellow” lifejacket, He is so cute in it.

    PPS. Molly is a black lab, and when we got her (March 2008)she was 3 months old. (She picked us when we were deciding which puppy we wanted. She was Bears baby. Bear was with us when Greta picked us. Greta is a yellow lab and is Molly’s baby.

    • treubold August 18, 2010 at 4:33 PM #

      Mary – I really appreciate your story. Thank you for writing. I’m sad to hear what happened to Bear (and the misdiagnosis), but I’m glad knowing his last days were so happy and that he passed away peacefully. Your story really touched me. Thank you!

  5. Phil August 22, 2010 at 9:44 AM #

    I can’t stop crying and I don’t think reading your blog is going to help with that, but I love it anyway. Can you tell me the 1st symptoms that Jasper showed? Here is our story. I never wanted a dog but almost 6 years ago my wife and our daughters talked me into adopting our Vizsla Lucky who was 2 at the time. It didn’t take long before he became my best friend and companion. He shares alot of traits that Jasper does, he even loves the water. I’ve done a lot of research on Vizslas and was worried early on that they are at high risk of cancer. I researched the symptoms and in the back of my mind always hoped I wouldn’t see him limping. Over the past 6 months or so we’ve noticed that Lucky hasn’t been 100% of himself. Wasn’t sure what to make of it, maybe he is just getting older. But we did notice a weird lumpy flesh thing, sort of where his right shoulder might be. It hasn’t really gotten bigger or anything. But just in the past week he has started limping. We thought that maybe he hurt his paw. But yesterday I was playing fetch in our house with Lucky. he ran upstairs to fetch his favorite toy and I heard a loud screech. He immediately recoiled his right front leg and was whimpering. I held him for a couple of minutes and then he could put pressure on the leg. But since then he hasn’t been able to run and is limping more than ever on that leg. I will take him to the vet tomorrow but as my UK friends would say, I’m gutted mate. Fearing the worst but hoping for the best.

    • treubold August 22, 2010 at 9:27 PM #

      Phil, before I reply to your message, I absolutely think you’re doing the right thing by taking him to the vet. I can tell you about our experience, but they’re the ones who will be able to give you a definitive answer. Ever since the age of 5, Jasper had random soft lumps that were nothing more than fatty tissue. According to our vet, not really much to worry about. The cancer was a much harder lump that started on his side – and it grew a lot faster than the soft, fatty tissue lumps. The fact that the lump you found hasn’t grown much is a good sign. If you or your vet have any suspicion that it’s cancer, take the dog to a veterinary oncologist ASAP. Each day is crucial to getting the care he’ll need. I don’t know about Lucky, but Jasper has always been a pretty sensitive dog. If it’s a Vizsla trait, then it’s possible that Lucky just pulled a muscle or something while playing around. Hopefully that’s all it is. I can totally understand your concern for his health, though. He sounds like a really wonderful companion. Please let me know how the vet visit goes and if you need any more information or if I can be of assistance. And remember, if it’s a cancer diagnosis – and I REALLY hope it isn’t – there are a lot of treatment options. Best wishes. Todd

  6. Daphne August 27, 2010 at 6:58 PM #

    I saw Jasper’s joy session on Sarah Beth’s website and came over to his blog. We did a session with her last winter with our own Vizsla, Oskar, and seeing Jasper’s beautiful red fur mixed with his wise grey face brought a smile of recognition to my face. Reading his story here brings tears to my eyes.

    We love our Vizsla so much and have actually had “the talk” – the thought of losing him, truly our first and only kid, is sometimes too much to bear. I wish Jasper all the best on his journey, and am thankful that he too has parents who love him like a child.

    • treubold August 29, 2010 at 10:53 PM #

      Thanks, Daphne. It’s truly amazing how pets become such a part of our families. Jasper was our first dog, too, so I can relate to your story. I wish you the best, too. Would love to see Oskar’s pics if they’re still online?

  7. melfr99 August 30, 2010 at 10:22 PM #

    I found your blog through SaraBeth Photography. She took some really amazing photos of Jasper didn’t she?

    I didn’t lose my Aspen through cancer, but whatever it was that she had was like it. She got weaker and weaker and thinner and thinner. Your blog brings back memories of the good times – when it was just her and I just enjoying each other’s company. Thank you for writing such an amazing blog and tribute to Jasper. BTW – I have a Jasper too. He’s a Sheltie.

    • treubold August 31, 2010 at 9:47 AM #

      Yeah, we loved the photos that Sarah took. Just amazing and something we’ll always cherish.

      I like what you wrote above – some of my favorite moments have been those times when it’s just J and I walking down a wooded trail.

      Thanks for the beautiful comments and say “hi” to your Jasper!

Leave a Reply

