Happy Birthday!

29 Aug

Hey, Jasper at the keyboard. What? You don’t think dogs can type? Well, obedience classes are pretty high tech these days, ya know.

Today’s my ninth birthday. I think that’s 63 in doggy years! Wow, I don’t feel a day over 30.

Where has the time gone? Seems like just yesterday I was a wee little pup learning the ins and outs of housetraining. (Between the two of us, I had it figured out early on but liked the extra attention so I kept having “accidents”.)

Anyway, today was a great birthday! After waking up Todd’s friend Jon and doing my morning business in the yard, I had a delicious breakfast of scrambled eggs and kibble. Yum!

Guess what happened next?!? Guess, guess, guess!!

We went to my favorite place in the world – the Minnehaha dog park. I just luuuuuuv swimming in the Mississippi River on hot days! I’ll share a few pics below.

I have a strange new thing I like to do in the park these days (gotta keep those humans guessing!). I stick my head all the way under the water and grab a rock between my teeth! Todd thinks I’m going to eat it, but I’m not that crazy. I just like placing the rocks on the shore. I’ll let you in on a little secret. I do it in the hope that the next time we visit the park, Todd will pick up the stone and throw it in the river so I can chase after it. Fun, fun!

After an extra long stay at the park – it’s great being the Birthday boy – I had a yummy peanut butter and jelly sandwich back at the house. Don’t tell Veronika, though. She probably wouldn’t want me eating that sweet strawberry jelly, but I liked it!

Next on the agenda, a much needed nap. Think I slept for about 5 hours. Ahhhhhh…

Todd decided to take Zooey out for a walk. Good idea! She drives me crazy when she hasn’t been out of the house all day. I love my little sis’, but she’s a squirrel-chasin’, rabbit-harassin’, toe-lickin’ maniac when she doesn’t get enough exercise! Plus that gave me a little more time for sleep.

I think I could get used to this Birthday thing because for dinner I ate like a king. I had fresh salmon with potatoes, veggies and some more kibble. Could’ve skipped the kibble, though, and just stuck with the good stuff.

After some peanut butter treats and some back scratchin’ it was off to bed for me. What a day!

Enough woofin’ from me, here are some photos.


Photo: I love riding in the car!


Photo: We made it to the dog park.


Photo: OK, let’s get going!


Photo: Throw the rock! Throw the rock!


Photo: Check me out.


Photo: So many rocks, so little time.


Photo: The far end of the dog park. My favorite place in the world.


Photo: Time to go home.


Photo: Here I am devouring a PB&J.


Photo: Shhhh, nap time…


Photo: Salmon dinner!!


Photo: Phew, I’m tired now.

4 Responses to “Happy Birthday!”

  1. Keri August 29, 2010 at 11:44 PM #

    Happy Birthday Jasper! Sounds like you had a day fitting for a Birthday Boy 🙂

    Gracie sends along Birthday WOOFwishes!

    Keri & Gracie

  2. Lori August 30, 2010 at 8:46 AM #

    love the pictures Todd…..give Jasper a birthday hug from me ~.~

    Lori

  3. melfr99 August 30, 2010 at 9:47 PM #

    Happy Birthday Jasper! My dogs, Daisy and Jasper, love the Minnehaha Dog Park too. Glad you had such a special day!

    • treubold August 31, 2010 at 9:40 AM #

      Thanks for the Birthday wishes everyone!

Leave a Reply

