And Now Acceptance…

9 Sep

I wrote a blog post back in June that asked, “How long does hope last?”

I now know the answer. Hope lasts until reality kicks its ass.

Another visit to the vet today, and guess what? Yup, more bad news. Lucky us. OK, already, I get it. Can we please catch a break now?!

Jasper has developed another cancerous lump near the top of his head. I asked the doctor about surgery since it’s so small right now, but he said that would cause more pain than it’s worth at this point in time. Reading between the lines, I think he was trying to tell me that the cancer on his side will take him away from us soon, so we shouldn’t worry about this new growth.

This is the point where hope – all bloody and bruised – doesn’t get up to fight reality anymore.

Ahh… it’s not my best day so I’m heading to bed.

4 Responses to “And Now Acceptance…”

  1. Keri September 9, 2010 at 11:55 PM #

    i’m so sorry 😦 ♥

  2. Shauna (Fido & Wino | R.O.A.R. Squad) September 10, 2010 at 12:29 AM #

    My heart goes out to you guys. Please take care.

  3. Kate September 10, 2010 at 5:27 PM #

    I am so sorry. It is truely unfair that Jasper has to face so many challenges. Know our thoughts are with you and let us know if there is anything we can do to help.

  4. All Dog Blog September 13, 2010 at 4:58 PM #

    I’m so sorry to hear about Jasper, you’ll be in our thoughts & prayers. Stay strong and enjoy each and every day together.

    -Erin & Bubbs

Leave a Reply

