Introducing Zooey-Roo the Wiggle Dog

14 Sep

“What a nice puppy!”

“Puppy?? She’s seven years old!”

If you’ve been following this blog for a while, you probably know Jasper isn’t alone with us in this journey. There’s another dog in the house and her name is “Zooey” (named after U2’s Zoo TV tour, but that’s a story for another day).

Back in the spring of 2003 we were a happy family of three – Veronika, J and I. Earlier that year, though, Jasper’s best friend Tomo – the Akita next door – had moved away. So, one day Veronika comes to me and says, “Jasper, looks so sad. We should get another dog.”

My first thought? “Uh oh, here we go again.”

Zooey in a flash
Photo: Typical shot of Zooey – always on the move!

In what seemed like a flash, Veronika put a word out to the Twin Cities Vizsla Club (yes, there is such a thing). Within a week or two we received a phone call:

“Found a Vizsla rescue dog. Ten month old female pup that needs a home. Todd and Veronika please help this poor little doggy.” OK, maybe I made up that last part, but Veronika was convinced we had to go – now!

So, off to Brooklyn Park we went. Zooey’s first owner was a young guy in his early twenties who soon decided he couldn’t take care of her. She was then shuttled off to his parents, but they were too busy to give her the type of exercise she needed. When we arrived, Zooey was a bundle of energy, but she could barely run because her legs were too weak from sitting around the house all day. When the owner showed us her one toy and ratty blue blanket, we were hooked. Zooey was coming home with us right then and there.

As soon as we got back home, we let her sniff around the yard a bit without J. She couldn’t have been happier! So many new smells and squirrels to torment.

After a while we decided it was time. We slowly opened the door and let Jasper join the party. To our surprise, he didn’t bark or growl. He just bounced around and did a happy dance… “Another Vizsla, another Vizsla!”

That was the last time he was happy for three months.

It soon became apparent that Zooey had wayyyy more energy than Jasper. While he was slowly moving out of the puppy phase, she was squarely in it and wanted to play ALL THE TIME! Poor Jasper. He was constantly being chased, jumped on, run over and chewed on. All the while he had a look on his face that said, “What have I done to deserve this??”

Over time, Zooey started to relax (a little!) and the two became best friends. On sunny days we’d sneak a peek of the two of them chasing each other around and wrestling in the back yard. Still to this day, those are some of my favorite memories ever.

Oh, and anyone who thinks dogs don’t have personalities has never had a dog.

Zooey and Jasper couldn’t be more different!

Zooey is the typical Vizsla – high energy, bouncing off the walls. The usual comment about J goes something like – “He’s the calmest Vizsla I’ve ever seen!”

Zooey is always on the hunt for rabbits, squirrels, birds… J likes to watch the clouds roll by.

Zooey chews her paws, licks her behind, and gets up and down and up and down, while Jasper lays down calmy on the couch and takes a nap.

Zooey’s fur is a light red. Jasper’s is dark. Zooey has a short tail. Jasper’s is long. Zooey loves people. Jasper loves a quiet walk in the park. Zooey puts her toes in the water and hops out. Jasper could swim all day. Like I said, they couldn’t be more different.

There were times over the years when I questioned getting a second dog. Wondered if we’d made the right decision. Now I know. I know why Zooey is with us.

Zooey is with us to provide comfort and love in the days ahead. I sometimes feel bad that we aren’t paying as much attention to her at the moment, but I know the day will come when she’s the star of the house. A time when her bounce and wiggle will bring a much needed smile to my face.

4 Responses to “Introducing Zooey-Roo the Wiggle Dog”

  1. Shauna (Fido & Wino | R.O.A.R. Squad) September 15, 2010 at 4:22 PM #

    Sounds like when we brought our 2nd dog home- our first dog was super excited… and then super annoyed. SUPER annoyed. They eventually worked it out 🙂

    I would love for you guys to join the R.O.A.R. Squad- it stands for Rescue Owners Are Rockin’ and it’s all about making adopting a rescue THE coolest thing around.

    I know that you guys have a lot on your plate right now, but if you are interested you can see the current R.O.A.R. Squad members here: http://fidoandwino.com/category/r-o-a-r-squad/

    I think you guys are excellent role models for current and prospect rescue owners everywhere.

    My heart goes out to you.

    • Donna Kliniewski September 15, 2010 at 6:58 PM #

      I can’t imagine a Vizsla needing rescue… they are the most wonderful dogs on the planet. Thank you for you taking the little girl in.

    • treubold September 15, 2010 at 11:28 PM #

      Thanks, Shauna. We’ll certainly look into this when things settle down here. Oh, and your experience with a second dog does sound a lot like ours! 🙂

  2. melfr99 September 19, 2010 at 10:43 PM #

    I love your story about Zooey and the eventual friendship between her and J. Daisy is my Lab. The mellowest Lab you will ever meet – no joke. Jasper, my Sheltie, was a wild child from the beginning. But, before Daisy and Jasper, I had Aspen. She was my older dog adoption (9 years old) and I adored her. She was sick, but sweet and sensitive and full of joy. I never intended to keep Daisy (she was a foster), but I did. I am glad I did. She helped me through the hard times too. I only had Aspen for a year, but I missed her for much, much longer than that. Daisy kept me going when I was sad. I know Jasper will do the same when it is time to say goodbye to Daisy. I am glad you have Zooey and she has you.

Leave a Reply

