October 3, 2010

3 Oct

Jasper passed away peacefully at home tonight surrounded by family. Veronika and I are completely heartbroken. Thank you to everyone who’s followed J’s story for all the support. We’ll write more in a couple days…

19 Responses to “October 3, 2010”

  1. Khyra and Her Mom October 3, 2010 at 10:22 PM #

    We are sorry for your loss

    Yet relieved his pain has left him

    He’s testing out all the waters across The Rainbow Bridge

    We had a candle lit for our friend Petey’s pal Lyle that crossed Sunday afternoon – so we’ll keep it lit a bit longer for Jasper –

  2. Huguette October 3, 2010 at 10:48 PM #

    I am so sorry for your loss. Jasper had a wonderful life and he knew he was loved.My thoughts are with you.

  3. C T October 3, 2010 at 10:58 PM #

    I’ve quietly followed Jasper’s journey for a few months now, and my heart is breaking for you. Jasper seemed like such an amazing dog, an amazing fighter, and an amazing companion to you both. We should all be so lucky to have our own Jaspers in our lives. My thoughts are with you now.

  4. Carol October 3, 2010 at 11:07 PM #

    I am so sorry for your loss.

    I first learned of your blog (and Jasper’s illness) when Sarah Beth posted Jasper’s joy session to her website, and I’ve been following Jasper’s journey since. I smiled when Jasper enjoyed another swim, and I cried when he took a turn for the worse. Jasper was a lucky dog to have such a wonderful family. I am sure that he knew how much you loved him.

    I will be sure to give my own four-legged kids extra hugs from now on…

  5. Keri October 3, 2010 at 11:10 PM #

    Godspeed sweet ^Jasper^

    Big hugs Veronika and Todd.

  6. Teesha Lane October 3, 2010 at 11:36 PM #

    He had wonderful parents, and I know he was so happy for his rich and full life. My thoughts are with you, as you take wonderful memories through the next steps…….

  7. Lindsey October 4, 2010 at 4:06 AM #

    I’m so sorry for you loss. < 3

  8. Leisa October 4, 2010 at 7:23 AM #

    I’m so sorry for your loss. Jasper was well and truly loved, and I’m sure he knew it.
    Hugs to you guys….may your memories of Jasper help you through this time.

  9. Carrie October 4, 2010 at 8:45 AM #

    I am so sorry for your loss. I just found your blog recently and have had such a great time reading about Jasper. You gave him a wonderful life and you should be very proud.

  10. Kathi October 4, 2010 at 10:06 AM #

    I am so sorry about Jasper. I have been following your blog and have loved reading about Jasper-Roo. He was a great dog and I know he knew how much he was loved. He is happy and running, playing and swimming at the Rainbow Bridge now, waiting for the day he can be reunited with you.

    Thank you for sharing his story with us.

  11. Amy October 4, 2010 at 3:17 PM #

    I am so very, very sorry for your pain and loss! Know Jasper really is in a better place and that you have given him THE BEST care and love throughout his life. You gave him respect, love, and tenderness. It is how we treat those we love that demonstrates who we are; your family is amazing.

    Sending my sympathy, condolences and all those other inadequate expressions at a painful time like this. Just know you are not alone in your grief and if you need to tell more stories to relive Jasper’s life every day to ease your pain, or just to share a laugh, we’d all be a willingly captive audience.

    Peace and love to you all!

  12. Shauna (Fido & Wino) October 4, 2010 at 4:18 PM #

    My heart goes out to you guys- I am so very sorry for your loss.

  13. marcia October 4, 2010 at 4:42 PM #

    jasper lived a life full of love and his memory will live on through your beautifully written moments of his life (and sara beth’s stunning photographs) and how much joy he brought to you both. you are in my thoughts. xo

  14. Robert October 4, 2010 at 7:31 PM #

    I’m so sorry. I just started reading your site a month ago and have been following it closely ever since. I hope you find comfort in remembering your life with Jasper.

  15. Tracy L. Teeter October 5, 2010 at 9:16 AM #

    I just discovered your blog today, and my heart is broken… I believe in the Rainbow Bridge and that Jasper will be waiting for you ever so patiently, and when he sees you coming it will be so wonderful! God bless – hugs to you. I wish I could have met him.

  16. Stephanie October 5, 2010 at 3:28 PM #

    I’ve so been dreading reading that Jasper had passed on (not as much as you dreaded writing it I’m sure). I can’t think of a thing to say that will ease your pain. But please know I have enjoyed so very much reading about him and your family. It’s great to know there are people like you and your wife in this world. I’m sure Jasper is smiling down on ya’ll from the rainbow bridge.

  17. Susel October 5, 2010 at 7:45 PM #

    I am sorry for your loss.

  18. avi October 6, 2010 at 1:20 AM #

    There is nothing to say, really, except to echo everyone else’s good words above and to express my deepest sympathies. Nothing can replace the heart and soul of a dog, yet I hope you and Veronika and Zooey are hanging in there as much as possible, if it’s possible at all right now. I am so sorry.

  19. Phil October 7, 2010 at 3:14 PM #

    I’m so sorry for your loss, thank you so much for sharing the bravest battle with us strangers

Leave a Reply

